M.Rock
Sydney Theatre Company presents
M.Rock

12 Jun 2014 to 28 Jun 2014

Sydney Theatre Company and
Australian Theatre for Young People present
M.ROCK
By Lachlan Philpott

The generation gap just got tighter

M.Rock is a magical new play, based on a true story, about the enduring joys of music, dancing and self-discovery.

Lachlan Philpott is one of the country's hottest writers, rocketing into the Sydney theatre landscape with the success ofSilent Disco for atyp and Griffin Theatre Company in 2011. In his distinctive language, Philpott charts the fortunes of 18-year-old Tracy and her grandmother Mabel. Tracy has just finished school, she's bought a round-the-world ticket and is flying away to soak up experience. By contrast, Mabel is stable. She plays piano for The Players, knits for the African appeal and looks after Hilda's cat.

When Tracy misses her plane home, Mabel sets off on a quest to find her granddaughter. But what she finds is her inner DJ.

A co-production with atyp and directed by Fraser Corfield,M.Rock features Valerie Bader (Australia Day) as the intrepid septuagenarian, as well as a live DJ pumping the energy of the dancefloor into the veins of the theatre.

Enjoy a delightfully fresh, inter-generational theatre experience that challenges taboos and assumptions about age.

Share This Event:   
Venue
Wharf 2 Theatre (Sydney Theatre Company)
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
1 hour 20 mins (no interval)
Restrictions/Warnings
You may also like... The Shakesbeer Sessions: Much Ado About NothingThe Shakesbeer Sessions: Much Ado About Nothing
14 Apr 2024 to 28 Apr 2024
All Tickets $30
Play
AsylumAsylum
2 May 2024 to 12 May 2024 Session Times
02-May Thurs 7.30 pm
03-May Fri 7.30 pm
04-May Sat 2:00 pm
04-May Sat 7.30 pm
05-May Sun 5:00 pm
09-May Thurs 7.30 pm
10-May Fri 7.30 pm
11-May Sat 2:00 pm
11-May Sat 7.30 pm
12-May Sun 5:00 pm
$41.50 to $45.00
Play
Toy Symphony by Michael GowToy Symphony by Michael Gow
18 Apr 2024 to 27 Apr 2024 Session Times
Thursday 18 April - 6pm
Friday 19 April - 6pm
Saturday 20 April - 1pm and 6pm
Wednesday 24 April - 6pm
Thursday 25 April - 6pm
Friday 26 April - 6pm
Saturday 27 April - 1pm & 6pm
$30 - $55
Play
IncredibiliaIncredibilia
29 May 2024 to 1 Jun 2024 Session Times
School Performances:
Wed 29 May 10:15am & 12:30pm
Thursday 30 May 10:15am & 12:30pm
Friday 31 May 11am

General Public Performances:
Saturday 1 June 11:00am & 1:00pm


$33 - $39
Play
Nayika (A Dancing Girl)Nayika (A Dancing Girl)
30 Apr 2024 to 19 May 2024 Session Times
Tuesday 30 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Saturday 4 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Sunday 5 May 2024 - 5:00PM,
Saturday 11 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Saturday 11 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 12 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Friday 17 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Saturday 18 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Saturday 18 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 19 May 2024 - 5:00PM

$39 - $95
Play