Cloud Nine
Sydney Theatre Company presents
Cloud Nine

1 Jul 2017 to 12 Aug 2017

Sydney Theatre Company presents
CLOUD NINE
By Caryl Churchill

Nobody is quite what they seem

Following the popular and critical success of Love and Information in 2015, Kip Williams continues his exploration of Caryl Churchill’s plays with her unique masterpiece, Cloud Nine.

The play begins in colonial Africa, amidst the Victorian constrictions of corset and empire. Betty is a young mother who lives only to please. Edward is a boy unsure of how to be a man. Around them is an extended family, in which all are struggling to live and thrive in the clothes they’re given and the expectations that come with them.

The play ends in London a century later, but the characters have aged only 25 years. In the course of time passing, Churchill unpicks the knotted realities of human relationships – between lovers, between siblings, between genders, between generations. Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, it is a play about love and work, race and power, identity and sex. As ever, Churchill distils a symphonic array of politics and ideas into living, breathing, tangible characters.

With sets and costumes by STC Resident Designer Elizabeth Gadsby (Disgraced), Cloud Nine sees the return of Harry Greenwood (Love and Information), Kate Box (ABC’s Rake) and Josh McConville (All My Sons) in this profoundly playful and timely production.

“The cleverest, drollest, most sexily experimental exercise in ‘compare and contrast’ that British theatre has probably ever seen.”
The Telegraph, UK

 

 

Share This Event:   
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
2hrs 30mins (including interval)
Restrictions/Warnings
You may also like... Strangers on a TrainStrangers on a Train
16 Mar 2024 to 20 Apr 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays - 7.30pm
Sundays - 4.30pm
Note: no shows Easter weekend

$30 - $35
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Apr 2024
$15 - $50
Play
Review Royalty: An Awards ExtravaganzaReview Royalty: An Awards Extravaganza
16 Mar 2024 to 24 Mar 2024 Session Times
March 16 and 17 at 7.30pm, and March 24 at 4.30pm
20
Play
The Smeds and The SmoosThe Smeds and The Smoos
26 Feb 2024
$20.00 - $25.00
Play
 Tiny Beautiful Things Tiny Beautiful Things
1 Feb 2024 to 2 Mar 2024 Session Times
Thursday 1 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 2 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 4 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 6 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 7 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 9 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 11 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 13 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 14 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 16 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 18 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 20 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 21 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 23 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 25 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 27 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 11:30AM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 29 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 1 March 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 7:30PM

$39 - $95
Play