Cloud Nine
Sydney Theatre Company presents
Cloud Nine

1 Jul 2017 to 12 Aug 2017

Sydney Theatre Company presents
CLOUD NINE
By Caryl Churchill

Nobody is quite what they seem

Following the popular and critical success of Love and Information in 2015, Kip Williams continues his exploration of Caryl Churchill’s plays with her unique masterpiece, Cloud Nine.

The play begins in colonial Africa, amidst the Victorian constrictions of corset and empire. Betty is a young mother who lives only to please. Edward is a boy unsure of how to be a man. Around them is an extended family, in which all are struggling to live and thrive in the clothes they’re given and the expectations that come with them.

The play ends in London a century later, but the characters have aged only 25 years. In the course of time passing, Churchill unpicks the knotted realities of human relationships – between lovers, between siblings, between genders, between generations. Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, it is a play about love and work, race and power, identity and sex. As ever, Churchill distils a symphonic array of politics and ideas into living, breathing, tangible characters.

With sets and costumes by STC Resident Designer Elizabeth Gadsby (Disgraced), Cloud Nine sees the return of Harry Greenwood (Love and Information), Kate Box (ABC’s Rake) and Josh McConville (All My Sons) in this profoundly playful and timely production.

“The cleverest, drollest, most sexily experimental exercise in ‘compare and contrast’ that British theatre has probably ever seen.”
The Telegraph, UK

 

 

Share This Event:   
Venue
Wharf 1 Theatre (Sydney Theatre Company)
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
2hrs 30mins (including interval)
Restrictions/Warnings
You may also like... Master Class - Ensemble TheatreMaster Class
14 Jun 2024 to 20 Jul 2024 Session Times
Fridays 8:00pm
Saturdays 3:30pm & 8:00pm
Sundays 5:00pm
Tuesdays 11:00am & 7:30pm
Wednesdays 7:30pm
Thursdays 11:00am & 7:30pm


$43 - $88
Play
Uncle VanyaUncle Vanya
26 Jul 2024 to 31 Aug 2024 Session Times
26 JULY - 31 AUGUST 2024,
FRIDAYS 8:00PM
SATURDAYS 3:30PM & 8:00PM
SUNDAYS 5:00PM
TUESDAYS 11:00AM & 7:30PM
WEDNESDAY 7:30PM
THURSDAYS 11:00AM & 7:30PM
$43-88
Play
The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-TimeThe Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
17 Aug 2024 to 22 Sep 2024 Session Times
Saturday 17 August 7:30pm
Sunday 18 August 6:30pm
Tuesday 20 August 7:30pm
Wednesday 21 August 7:30pm
Friday 23 August 7:30pm
Saturday 24 August 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 25 August 5:00pm
Tuesday 27 August 6:30pm
Wednesday 28 August 6:30pm
Thursday 29 August 7:30pm
Friday 30 August 11:30am
Saturday 31 August 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 1 September 5:00pm
Tuesday 3 September 6:30pm
Wednesday 4 September 6:30pm
Thursday 5 September 1:00pm, 7:30pm
Friday 6 September 7:30pm
Saturday 7 September 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 8 September 5:00pm
Tuesday 10 September 6:30pm
Wednesday 11 September 6:30pm
Friday 13 September 7:30pm
Saturday 14 September 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 15 September 5:00pm
Thursday 19 September 11:30am, 7:30pm
Friday 20 September 7:30pm
Saturday 21 September 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 22 September 2:00pm
Ranging from $39-$95
Play
GaslightGaslight
Show finished on 23 Jun 2024
Tickets from $69.90
Play
The MousetrapAgatha Christie's The Mousetrap
17 Jul 2024 to 19 Jul 2024
$90 - $99
Play