The Resistible Rise Of Arturo Ui
Sydney Theatre Company presents
The Resistible Rise Of Arturo Ui

21 Mar 2018 to 28 Apr 2018

Sydney Theatre Company and UBS present
THE RESISTIBLE RISE OF ARTURO UI
By Bertolt Brecht
Translated by Tom Wright

We get the leaders we deserve

Arturo Ui is a small-time gangster with a lust for power. In a city shaken by economic crisis and undermined by corruption, Ui keeps rising and rising until he reaches the very top. When he gets there, he won’t be breaking the law, he’ll be making it.

Hugo Weaving returns to STC in this powerhouse role. Written in 1941 as a cautionary satire on the rise of Hitler, Bertolt Brecht’s play is both thrillingly sharp and riotously funny. Set in 1930s Chicago, it has the wit, murder and musicality of a gangster movie while asking a very political question – how do we let a man like that come to power?

Artistic Director Kip Williams brings a bold, visually inventive vision to this great play. With a cast that includes the legendary Peter Carroll alongside Mitchell Butel (Arms and the Man), Anita Hegh (Cloud Nine) and Ursula Yovich (The Golden Age), this promises to be a big, entertaining and thought-provoking night out.

“Brecht’s anti-fascist study of political power hits home.”
The Guardian

 

 

Share This Event:   
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
2hrs 30mins (including interval)
Restrictions/WarningsMedia
You may also like... A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
30 May 2024
$30.00 - $52.00
Play
Alice In WonderlandAlice In Wonderland
Show finished on 6 Jan 2024
$44.90 - $64.90
Play
 Tiny Beautiful Things Tiny Beautiful Things
1 Feb 2024 to 2 Mar 2024 Session Times
Thursday 1 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 2 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 4 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 6 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 7 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 9 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 11 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 13 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 14 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 16 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 18 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 20 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 21 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 23 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 25 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 27 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 11:30AM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 29 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 1 March 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 7:30PM

$39 - $95
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Apr 2024
Tickets from $59
Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
23 Jul 2024 to 27 Jul 2024
55-120
Play