The Picture of Dorian Gray
Sydney Theatre Company presents
The Picture of Dorian Gray

25 Nov 2020 to 9 Jan 2021

 

Oscar Wilde’s century-old moral fable, packed with witticisms, is as devilishly wicked today as on its debut.

Seeing himself in a dazzling new portrait, an exquisite young man makes a Faustian wish for eternal youth. Dorian Gray throws himself into a life of wanton luxury drifting from the pampered salons of Victorian London to the darkest recesses of the capital, and revelling in the splendour of his beauty which remains forever golden. Meanwhile, the portrait – banished to an attic – becomes more and more grotesque.

This new interpretation of Wilde’s only novel is adapted and directed by Artistic Director Kip Williams. Collaborating once again with Eryn Jean Norvill (Suddenly Last Summer, Romeo and Juliet), Williams’ reimagining will see Norvill performing every role in the story in an audacious cascade of theatrical transformations. The inventive use of live video that made Suddenly Last Summer and The Resistible Rise of Arturo Ui so visually compelling will capture and amplify every move.

“The only way to get rid of a temptation is to yield to it.”  Lord Henry

 

 

 

Share This Event:   
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
1hr 45mins (no interval)
Restrictions/WarningsMedia
You may also like... Review Royalty: An Awards ExtravaganzaReview Royalty: An Awards Extravaganza
16 Mar 2024 to 24 Mar 2024 Session Times
Saturday 16 March 2024 - 7.30pm
Sunday 17 March 2024 - 7.30pm
Sunday 24 March 2024 - 4.30pm

All tickets $20
Play
RBG: Of Many, OneRBG: Of Many, One
3 Apr 2024 to 6 Apr 2024
$69 - $99
Play
Lose to WinLose to Win
25 Apr 2024 to 19 May 2024 Session Times
Thursday 25 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 26 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 5 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Tuesday 7 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 8 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 9 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 12 May 2024 - 5:00PM,
Tuesday 14 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 15 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 19 May 2024 - 2:00PM

$39-95
Play
Wild Dogs Under My SkirtWild Dogs Under My Skirt
18 Apr 2024 to 20 Apr 2024
$39 - $44.50
Play
Alice In WonderlandAlice In Wonderland
Show finished on 6 Jan 2024
$44.90 - $64.90
Play