Arcadia
Sydney Theatre Company presents
Arcadia

8 Feb 2016 to 2 Apr 2016

Sydney Theatre Company presents
ARCADIA
By Tom Stoppard

Fall in love with chaos

Tom Stoppard’s Arcadia is recognised as one of the 20th century’s great plays. In his matchless style, he brings together comedy, science, suspense and romantic entanglements. And all in the one room.

In a stately home in the British countryside, two intertwined narratives, two hundred years apart, are playing out. In April 1809, bright young Thomasina and her tutor Septimus are inventing chaos theory a century too early – or perhaps they are simply falling in love? Two hundred years later, two scholars, hooked on the past’s unsolved mysteries, try to piece the truth together from the puzzling fragments that remain.

Through it all, Stoppard’s writing effortlessly evokes the unknowability of the past and the many casual moments that determine our fate.

Directed by Richard Cottrell, whose production of Stoppard’s Travesties was a hit in 2009, Arcadia brings back to STC the delightful talents of Ryan Corr (Sex with Strangers), Blazey Best (Travesties), Andrea Demetriades (Arms and the Man), Glenn Hazeldine (After Dinner) and Josh McConville (Noises Off) in a play that will entrance, stimulate and illuminate.

“I have never left a play more convinced that I had just witnessed a masterpiece.”
The Daily Telegraph, UK

 

 

Share This Event:   
Venue
Sydney Opera House - Drama Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
2hrs 45mins (including interval)
Media
You may also like... Plaza SuitePlaza Suite
3 Feb 2024 to 2 Mar 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays - 7.30pm
Sundays - 4.30pm

$30 - $35
Play
 Tiny Beautiful Things Tiny Beautiful Things
1 Feb 2024 to 2 Mar 2024 Session Times
Thursday 1 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 2 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 4 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 6 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 7 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 9 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 11 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 13 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 14 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 16 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 18 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 20 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 21 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 23 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 25 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 27 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 11:30AM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 29 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 1 March 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 7:30PM

$39 - $95
Play
Potted PotterPotted Potter
9 Apr 2024 to 21 Apr 2024
$69 - $89
Play
Strangers on a TrainStrangers on a Train
16 Mar 2024 to 20 Apr 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays - 7.30pm
Sundays - 4.30pm
Note: no shows Easter weekend

$30 - $35
Play
Lose to WinLose to Win
25 Apr 2024 to 19 May 2024 Session Times
Thursday 25 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 26 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 5 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Tuesday 7 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 8 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 9 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 12 May 2024 - 5:00PM,
Tuesday 14 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 15 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 19 May 2024 - 2:00PM

$39-95
Play