The Events
State Theatre Company South Australia and Belvoir St Theatre presents
The Events

12 May 2016 to 12 Jun 2016

Presented by State Theatre Company, Belvoir and Malthouse Theatre in association with Adelaide Festival
By David Greig

The Australian premiere production of a thought-provoking and uplifting international phenomenon, starring the extraordinary Catherine McClements.

When Claire, a priest, survives a massacre she sets out on a quest to answer the most difficult question of all—‘why?’ It’s a journey that takes her to the edge of reason, science, politics and faith.

Award-winning Scottish playwright David Greig’s The Events follows a community’s search for compassion, peace and understanding in the wake of unthinkable violence. This play asks big questions: how far can forgiveness stretch in the face of atrocity; how can we live together knowing that it can all come apart in an instant?

Delving into faith, politics, and reason, this brilliantly inventive piece showcases a different local community choir at each performance. Featuring soaring choral music, The Events tells of tragedy, obsession and our destructive desire to fathom the unfathomable.

The hit of the Edinburgh Festival Fringe, The Events garnered five-star reviews, along with a Fringe First and the Carol Tambor Best of Edinburgh Award before transferring for sell-out seasons around Europe and America, and is sure to be a stand-out within the Adelaide Festival.

This new Australian production, co-produced with Belvoir and Malthouse Theatre, will be helmed by the inventive director Clare Watson (What Rhymes With Cars and Girls) and features renowned star of stage and screen Catherine McClements (Rush, Water Rats).

 

 

Share This Event:   
Venue
Belvoir St Theatre
Session TimesTour Dates and LocationsMedia
You may also like... RatburgerRatburger
17 Apr 2024 to 28 Apr 2024 Session Times
Wednesday 17 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Thursday 18 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Friday 19 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm, 6pm
Saturday 20 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Sunday 21 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm, 4pm
Tuesday 23 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Wednesday 24 April 202412.30pm, 6pm
Thursday 25 April 202410.30am*, 12.30pm
Friday 26 April 202412.30pm, 6pm
Saturday 27 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Sunday 28 April 202410.30am, 12.30pm
Tickets from $29 + $8.95 booking fee
Play
AsylumAsylum
2 May 2024 to 12 May 2024 Session Times
02-May Thurs 7.30 pm
03-May Fri 7.30 pm
04-May Sat 2:00 pm
04-May Sat 7.30 pm
05-May Sun 5:00 pm
09-May Thurs 7.30 pm
10-May Fri 7.30 pm
11-May Sat 2:00 pm
11-May Sat 7.30 pm
12-May Sun 5:00 pm
$41.50 to $45.00
Play
The Shakesbeer Sessions: Much Ado About NothingThe Shakesbeer Sessions: Much Ado About Nothing
Show finished on 11 Apr 2024
All Tickets $30
Play
The Odd CoupleThe Odd Couple
27 Jun 2024 to 21 Jul 2024
$69.90 - $179.90
Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
23 Jul 2024 to 27 Jul 2024
$55 - $120
Play