The Grapes of Wrath
Canberra Repertory Society presents
The Grapes of Wrath

13 Feb 2020 to 29 Feb 2020

 

An epic story, with great tragedy and challenge, and explores human desperation and determination.

The Grapes of Wrath tells the powerful story of the Joad family’s trek from the dust bowl of Oklahoma to the promise of a new life in California. They are heading west in their own starving nation, but being treated at every moment like non-resident aliens. Seen by everyone they meet as undesirables, this extended family just wants work, happiness and a small slice of the American Dream. In every community through which they travel they’re viewed as part of a terrifying wave of the needy, a disruption of normal life, something to be repelled en masse. So much has not changed in our world today. One critic reflecting on its continued relevance said: “Steinbeck didn’t want us to lose hope — he wanted us to get angry at those who would strip hope from us”.

An amateur production by arrangement with Hal Leonard Australia Pty Ltd.

 

 

 

Share This Event:   
Session TimesTicket PricesMedia
You may also like... Wild Dogs Under My SkirtWild Dogs Under My Skirt
18 Apr 2024 to 20 Apr 2024 Session Times
Thursday 18 Apr, 7:00pm; Friday 19 Apr, 8:00pm; Saturday 20 Apr, 2:30pm & 8:00pm
Riverside Members from $39 | Non-members
Play
RBG: Of Many, OneRBG: Of Many, One
3 Apr 2024 to 6 Apr 2024 Session Times
Wed 3 April, 7:30pm; Thu 4 April, 6:30pm; Fri 5 April, 7:30pm; Sat 6 April, 1:30pm & 7:30pm
$69-$99
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
7 Jun 2024 to 15 Jun 2024
$40.00 - $110.00
Play
RBG: Of Many, OneRBG: Of Many, One
11 Apr 2024 to 21 Apr 2024
$69.00 - $119.00
Play
Happy Meals, Happy KidsHappy Meals, Happy Kids
7 Mar 2024 to 9 Mar 2024 Session Times
Thursday 7th March 7.30pm
Friday 8th March 7.30pm
Saturday 9th March 2pm
Saturday 9th March 7.30pm
$25-$35
Play