The 7 Stages of Grieving
Sydney Theatre Company presents
The 7 Stages of Grieving

21 May 2021 to 19 Jun 2021

A testament to love, family and resilience

The 7 Stages of Grieving is a vibrant and insightful account of what it means to be an Aboriginal woman in contemporary Australia. On its premiere in 1995 it became an early triumph for Deborah Mailman and Wesley Enoch, and a beloved classic of Australian theatre.

A woman stands alone on stage. Over one gripping hour, she traces seven phases of Aboriginal history – Dreaming, Invasion, Genocide, Protection, Assimilation, Self-Determination, and Reconciliation. Mailman and Enoch’s script is a potent expression of strength and survival, as well as humour and joy. It’s an ode to the power of storytelling.

Resident Director Shari Sebbens makes her STC directorial debut with this moving and vital work. Helpmann Award-winner Elaine Crombie tackles this tour de force performance with her distinctive warmth and vivacity.

In an exciting update, brand new scenes have been added with Enoch and Mailman to offer a contemporary perspective on what has changed in the 26 years since the play first opened, and how far we still have to go.

The 7 Stages of Grieving’s generosity of spirit is set to be embraced by a whole new generation.

Share This Event:   
Venue
Wharf 1 Theatre (Sydney Theatre Company)
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
60 minutes
Restrictions/Warnings
You may also like... SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024
29 Feb 2024 to 21 Apr 2024 Session Times
WEEK 3 | Thursday 29 February 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Friday 1 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Saturday 2 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Sunday 3 March 6:30pm
WEEK 4 | Thursday 7 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Friday 8 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Saturday 9 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Sunday 10 March 6:30pm
WEEK 5 | Thursday 14 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Friday 15 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Saturday 16 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Sunday 17 March 6:30pm
WEEK 6 | Thursday 28 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Friday 29 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Saturday 30 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Sunday 31 March 6:30pm
WEEK 7 | Thursday 4 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Friday 5 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Saturday 6 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Sunday 7 April 6:30pm
WEEK 8 | Thursday 18 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Friday 19 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Saturday 20 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Sunday 21 April 6:30pm
$25 - $30
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Apr 2024
$15 - $50
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
30 May 2024
$30.00 - $52.00
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Apr 2024
Tickets from $59
Play
Plaza SuitePlaza Suite
3 Feb 2024 to 2 Mar 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays - 7.30pm
Sundays - 4.30pm

$30 - $35
Play