Sunshine Super Girl
Performing Lines presents
Sunshine Super Girl

2 Nov 2022 to 5 Nov 2022

Before Ash Barty lifted the trophy at Wimbledon, there was Evonne Goolagong.

A young girl hits a ball against the tin wall of her family’s home. This is where it all began for Evonne. Hers is a quintessentially Blak Australian story about a girl from the bush who dared to dream. With the support of an outback farming town, Evonne rose to become the number one tennis player in the world and a household name by the age of 19.

This heartwarming story is a celebration of spirit and passion over adversity, and a tribute to a woman whose sporting prowess continues to inspire a nation, giving hope to thousands of young girls across the country. With its distinctively Australian sensibility and humour, Sunshine Super Girl asks us to consider our nation’s future and the part we can play for the ‘next Goolagong’ waiting in the wings.

This landmark new Australian work is written and directed by Yorta Yorta / Gunaikurnai theatremaker Andrea James (Yanagai! Yanagai!).

Sunshine Super Girl is destined to become a legacy piece, one that celebrates our history, reflects on our struggle for equality, and shows how the spirit can overcome in spectacular ways.” – The Conversation

This is a play that educates and uplifts.” – Sydney Morning Herald

Share This Event:   
Venue
The Q - Queanbeyan Performing Arts Centre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
Approx 90 minutes
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and LocationsMedia
You may also like... A Place in the Sultans KitchenA Place in the Sultans Kitchen
8 Aug 2024 to 10 Aug 2024 Session Times
Thu 8 Aug, 7:30pm; Fri 9 Aug, 7:30pm; Sat 10 Aug, 7:30pm
Pay What You Feel
Play
KarimKarim
25 Jul 2024 to 3 Aug 2024 Session Times
Thurs 25 July - 7:45 pm
Fri 26 July - 7:45 pm
Sat 27 July - 7:45 pm
Wed 31 July - 7:45 pm
Thurs 1 Aug - 6:30pm
Fri 2 Aug - 7:45 pm
Sat 3 Aug - 2:30pm & 7:45 pm

Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
23 Jul 2024 to 27 Jul 2024
$55 - $120
Play
GaslightGaslight
Show finished on 3 Mar 2024
Play
James and the Giant PeachJames and the Giant Peach
5 Jul 2024 to 21 Jul 2024 Session Times
Friday 5 July 2024 - 6.30pm
Saturday 6 July 2024 - 11am, 2pm, 6.30pm
Sunday 7 July 2024 - 11am, 2pm
Tuesday 9 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Wednesday 10 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Thursday 11 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Friday 12 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Saturday 13 July 2024 - 2pm, 6.30pm
Sunday 14 July 2024 - 11am, 2pm
Tuesday 16 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Wednesday 17 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Thursday 18 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Friday 19 July 2024 - 10.30am, 1pm
Saturday 20 July 2024 - 11am, 2pm
Sunday 21 July 2024 - 11am, 2pm

Tickets from $39 + $8.95 booking fee
Play