Black Cockatoo
Ensemble Theatre presents
Black Cockatoo

10 Mar 2022 to 15 May 2022

By Geoffrey Atherden. Directed by Wesley Enoch.

Book Now

Over 150 years ago, 13 brave Aboriginal men in Western Victoria picked up their cricket bats and embarked on a treacherous voyage to England and into the unknown – all in the name of sport.

Risking illness and persecution, Australia’s first international cricket team, including Australia's first Indigenous sporting hero Johnny Mullagh, amazed the English crowds with astonishing talent, personality and grit. They should have returned to Australia as celebrated heroes. Instead they came back to find the world they once knew was no longer there.

When a group of young present-day activists sneak into the Wimmera Discovery Centre to expose the truth of what happened to Johnny and his team mates, a hidden legend of triumph and tragedy unfolds. Funny and incredibly moving, Black Cockatoo is a new artistic collaboration between iconic Australian writer Geoffrey Atherden (Mother and Son, Babakiueria) and former Sydney Festival Artistic Director Wesley Enoch (Black Diggers).

This is not just a story about cricket, this is story of strength, resistance, hope and possibility.

★★★★ "This amazing Australian story rings with authenticity, humour and quirky compassion" Stage Noise
★★★★ "A vibrant, fascinating and challenging production" ArtsHub

Share This Event:   
Session TimesDuration
90 Minutes
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and Locations
You may also like... FourteenFourteen
Show finished on 6 Jul 2024
$59 - $79
Play
The Arrogance at KXT on BroadwayThe Arrogance at KXT on Broadway
26 Jul 2024 to 10 Aug 2024 Session Times
Friday 26th July 7:30pm
Saturday 27th July 7:30pm
Sunday 28th July 5:00pm
Tuesday 30th July 7:30pm
Wednesday 31st July 7:30pm
Thursday 1st August 7:30pm
Friday 2nd August 7:30pm
Saturday 3rd August 7:30pm
Sunday 4th August 5:00pm
Tuesday 6th August 7:30pm
Wednesday 7th August 7:30pm
Thursday 8th August 7:30pm
Friday 9th August 7:30pm
Saturday 10th August 7:30pm
$30-$45
Play
Murder on the Nile Murder on the Nile
9 Aug 2024 to 21 Sep 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays at 7.30pm
Sundays at 4.30pm
$30-$35
Play
GaslightGaslight
21 Aug 2024 to 1 Sep 2024
Tickets from $69.90
Play
FourteenFourteen
7 Aug 2024 to 10 Aug 2024
$39.80 - $59.00
Play