Black Cockatoo
Ensemble Theatre presents
Black Cockatoo

11 May 2022 to 15 May 2022

By Geoffrey Atherden. Directed by Wesley Enoch.

Book Now

Over 150 years ago, 13 brave Aboriginal men in Western Victoria picked up their cricket bats and embarked on a treacherous voyage to England and into the unknown – all in the name of sport.

Risking illness and persecution, Australia’s first international cricket team, including Australia's first Indigenous sporting hero Johnny Mullagh, amazed the English crowds with astonishing talent, personality and grit. They should have returned to Australia as celebrated heroes. Instead they came back to find the world they once knew was no longer there.

When a group of young present-day activists sneak into the Wimmera Discovery Centre to expose the truth of what happened to Johnny and his team mates, a hidden legend of triumph and tragedy unfolds. Funny and incredibly moving, Black Cockatoo is a new artistic collaboration between iconic Australian writer Geoffrey Atherden (Mother and Son, Babakiueria) and former Sydney Festival Artistic Director Wesley Enoch (Black Diggers).

This is not just a story about cricket, this is story of strength, resistance, hope and possibility.

★★★★ "This amazing Australian story rings with authenticity, humour and quirky compassion" Stage Noise
★★★★ "A vibrant, fascinating and challenging production" ArtsHub

Share This Event:   
Venue
Glen Street Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
90 Minutes
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and Locations
You may also like... SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024
29 Feb 2024 to 21 Apr 2024 Session Times
WEEK 3 | Thursday 29 February 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Friday 1 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Saturday 2 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Sunday 3 March 6:30pm
WEEK 4 | Thursday 7 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Friday 8 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Saturday 9 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Sunday 10 March 6:30pm
WEEK 5 | Thursday 14 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Friday 15 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Saturday 16 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Sunday 17 March 6:30pm
WEEK 6 | Thursday 28 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Friday 29 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Saturday 30 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Sunday 31 March 6:30pm
WEEK 7 | Thursday 4 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Friday 5 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Saturday 6 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Sunday 7 April 6:30pm
WEEK 8 | Thursday 18 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Friday 19 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Saturday 20 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Sunday 21 April 6:30pm
$25 - $30
Play
Strangers on a TrainStrangers on a Train
16 Mar 2024 to 20 Apr 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays - 7.30pm
Sundays - 4.30pm
Note: no shows Easter weekend

$30 - $35
Play
Happy Meals, Happy KidsHappy Meals, Happy Kids
7 Mar 2024 to 9 Mar 2024 Session Times
Thursday 7th March 7.30pm
Friday 8th March 7.30pm
Saturday 9th March 2pm
Saturday 9th March 7.30pm
$25-$35
Play
The Smeds and The SmoosThe Smeds and The Smoos
Show finished on 26 Feb 2024
$20.00 - $25.00
Play
 Tiny Beautiful Things Tiny Beautiful Things
1 Feb 2024 to 2 Mar 2024 Session Times
Thursday 1 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 2 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 4 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 6 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 7 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 8 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 9 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 10 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 11 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 13 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 14 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 15 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 16 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 17 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 18 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 20 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 21 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 1:00PM
Thursday 22 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 23 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 24 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Sunday 25 February 2024 - 5:00PM
Tuesday 27 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 11:30AM
Wednesday 28 February 2024 - 6:30PM
Thursday 29 February 2024 - 7:30PM
Friday 1 March 2024 - 7:30PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 2:00PM
Saturday 2 March 2024 - 7:30PM

$39 - $95
Play