A Is For Apple
Griffin Theatre Company presents
A Is For Apple

29 Mar 2022 to 9 Apr 2022

Shoshana, 12 years old, is about to celebrate her Bat Mitzvah, which will welcome her into the hallowed halls of Jewish womanhood. Miriam, double her age, is the teacher helping Shoshana prepare for her big day.

However, one question keeps stopping both student and teacher in their tracks: what even is a Jewish woman? A is for Apple is an irreverent, impertinent romp through the Old Testament’s patriarchs and matriarchs, in search of role models. Jessica Bellamy’s (Shabbat Dinner) inventive new play asks how women can rewrite the myths that formed them, and create a version of ‘woman’ that embraces contradiction and complexity. A is for Apple relishes in genre-blending and cultural translations to ask lovingly provocative questions and welcome everybody into the tribe.

So, load up on Genesis, cue up some Missy Elliott and get ready for a night at the theatre that will leave you empowered and renewed.

Director Scarlet McGlynn
Set & Costume Designer Emma White
Lighting Designer Kelsey Lee
Composer/Sound Designer Jessica Dunn
Stage Manager Claire Ferguson
Producer Jessica Bellamy
Production Assistant Paris Freed
With Amy Hack, Zoe Resnick

Share This Event:   
Venue
SBW Stables Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesRestrictions/Warnings
You may also like... A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
Show finished on 2 Apr 2024
Tickets from $59
Play
Lose to WinLose to Win
25 Apr 2024 to 19 May 2024 Session Times
Thursday 25 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 26 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 5 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Tuesday 7 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 8 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 9 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 12 May 2024 - 5:00PM,
Tuesday 14 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 15 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 19 May 2024 - 2:00PM

$39-95
Play
The One Who Planted TreesThe One Who Planted Trees
12 Jun 2024
$15.00 - $25.00
Play
IncredibiliaIncredibilia
29 May 2024 to 1 Jun 2024 Session Times
School Performances:
Wed 29 May 10:15am & 12:30pm
Thursday 30 May 10:15am & 12:30pm
Friday 31 May 11am

General Public Performances:
Saturday 1 June 11:00am & 1:00pm


$33 - $39
Play
RBG: Of Many, OneRBG: Of Many, One
Show finished on 23 Mar 2024
$50 - $140
Play