Mother May We
Griffin Theatre Company presents
Mother May We

28 Sep 2022 to 8 Oct 2022

If you’re a first generation Australian woman. If you’re the daughter of a black mother. If you’ve inherited their pain—of escaping the horrors of third world conditions, of carrying physical and emotional trauma, of reckoning with an unfamiliar western frontier that regards you as ‘other’—then you’ll know how difficult it is to ask for permission to heal.

How can you balance your history with your unwritten future? How can you inhabit an individual identity when you’ve inherited the truths of your ancestors? How can you open your arms and feel the sunshine on your skin when secrecy and shame drain the colour from your parents’ eyes?

Poet Mel Ree rhapsodises about intergenerational trauma and marries ancestral and modern truths in a truly epic and cathartic performance. Peppering playful performance art with humbling, hard truths, Mother May We is a motivational manifesto for how to heal.

Share This Event:   
Venue
SBW Stables Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesMedia
You may also like... A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
2 Apr 2024
Tickets from $59
Play
Lose to WinLose to Win
25 Apr 2024 to 19 May 2024 Session Times
Thursday 25 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 26 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 2 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 5 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Tuesday 7 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 8 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 9 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Friday 10 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 12 May 2024 - 5:00PM,
Tuesday 14 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Wednesday 15 May 2024 - 6:30PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 1:00PM,
Thursday 16 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 19 May 2024 - 2:00PM

$39-95
Play
Wild Dogs Under My SkirtWild Dogs Under My Skirt
18 Apr 2024 to 20 Apr 2024
$39 - $44.50
Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
23 Jul 2024 to 27 Jul 2024
$55 - $120
Play
RBG: Of Many, OneRBG: Of Many, One
9 Feb 2024 to 23 Mar 2024
$50 - $140
Play