Legacies
Q the Locals and Ribix Productions presents
Legacies

2 Aug 2023 to 5 Aug 2023

Based on the true story of the Arran Stowaways, Legacies follows the journey of six boys seeking adventure, buried treasure, sword fights… and an elusive cuttlefish.

The story opens in 1868, on board the Arran, a ship bound from Scotland to Canada. The kindness and warmth of the captain well-rumoured, the ship is host to six stowaways, ranging in ages from 11 to 16. These boys are immediately put to work with the crew and their tale of adventure begins. It is not without its hardships, as the first mate of the ship rules with a hardwood fist under the captain’s complacency. Conflict comes to a head as the ship enters the icy waters off the coast of Newfoundland and becomes stuck in the ice flows. Convinced that this is the best option for the rest of the crew, the Captain banishes the young stowaways from the ship and forces them off onto the ice. Abandoned in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean, the boys are faced with an impossible choice: risk the trek over twelve miles of treacherous ice to the isolated coast of Newfoundland or remain in futile hopes of rescue from another ship.

Legacies was born out of a family legacy, as playwright Rachel Pengilly is a direct descendant from one of the central stowaways. The play has been written in correspondence with other descendants around the world and looks at the contribution these stowaways have made to their own communities and to Australia.

Playwright/Director Rachel Pengilly

Composer Shannon Parnell

Movement Director Hannah Pengilly

Share This Event:   
Venue
The Q - Queanbeyan Performing Arts Centre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
120 mins, 20 min interval
Restrictions/Warnings
You may also like... Birdsong of TomorrowBirdsong of Tomorrow
22 Aug 2024 to 24 Aug 2024 Session Times
Thu 22 Aug, 7:30pm; Fri 23 Aug, 7:30pm; Sat 24 Aug, 7:30pm
Pay What You Feel
Play
Trophy Boys Trophy Boys
Show finished on 7 Jul 2024
$37 - $54
Play
The MousetrapAgatha Christie's The Mousetrap
8 Aug 2024 to 11 Aug 2024
35-99
Play
The Woman In BlackThe Woman In Black
Show finished on 11 May 2024
$55 - $145
Play
The Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-TimeThe Curious Incident Of The Dog In The Night-Time
17 Aug 2024 to 22 Sep 2024 Session Times
Saturday 17 August 7:30pm
Sunday 18 August 6:30pm
Tuesday 20 August 7:30pm
Wednesday 21 August 7:30pm
Friday 23 August 7:30pm
Saturday 24 August 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 25 August 5:00pm
Tuesday 27 August 6:30pm
Wednesday 28 August 6:30pm
Thursday 29 August 7:30pm
Friday 30 August 11:30am
Saturday 31 August 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 1 September 5:00pm
Tuesday 3 September 6:30pm
Wednesday 4 September 6:30pm
Thursday 5 September 1:00pm, 7:30pm
Friday 6 September 7:30pm
Saturday 7 September 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 8 September 5:00pm
Tuesday 10 September 6:30pm
Wednesday 11 September 6:30pm
Friday 13 September 7:30pm
Saturday 14 September 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 15 September 5:00pm
Thursday 19 September 11:30am, 7:30pm
Friday 20 September 7:30pm
Saturday 21 September 2:00pm, 7:30pm
Sunday 22 September 2:00pm
Ranging from $39-$95
Play