West Side Story
Dramatic Productions presents
West Side Story

6 Oct 2023 to 21 Oct 2023

From the first notes to the final breath, West Side Story is one of the most memorable musicals and greatest love stories of all time. Arthur Laurents' book remains as powerful, poignant, and timely as ever. The score by Leonard Bernstein and Stephen Sondheim is widely regarded as one of the best written. The world's greatest love story takes to the streets in this landmark Broadway musical that is one of the theatre's finest accomplishments. 

Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet is transported to modern-day New York City as two young, idealistic lovers find themselves caught between warring street gangs, the "American" Jets and the Puerto Rican Sharks. Their struggle to survive in a world of hate, violence and prejudice is one of the most innovative, heart-wrenching, and relevant musical dramas of our time.

SUPPORTING LOCAL CHARITIES:

As part of Dramatic Productions Dramatic Difference Program, each show (with the exception of Opening and Closing Nights) will be dedicated to one of twelve local charities.

10% of each ticket purchase is donated to each charity as per their dedicated session. 

Saturday 7th October 8pm - Dainere's Rainbow

Sunday 8th October 2pm - RSPCA 

Wednesday 11th October 8pm - Canberra Hospital Foundation

Thursday 12th October 8pm - Home in Queanbeyan

Friday 13th October 8pm - Hands Across Canberra

Saturday 14th October 2pm - Newborn Intensive Care Foundation

Satruday 14th October 8pm - Soldier On

Sunday 15th October 2pm - Majors Creek Wombat Rescue

Wednesday 18th October 8pm - Karabar Housing Cooperative

Thursday 19th October 8pm - Prisoners Aid

Friday 20th October 8pm - AFP Legacy

Saturday 21st Cotober 2pm - Helping ACT

 

PAY IT FORWARD TICKETS:

If you are able and would like to gift the joy of theatre to those who would otherwise not be able to attend, please consider purchasing another reduced price ‘Pay It Forward’ ticket upon check out. These tickets will then be made available to the charities above to provide to their clients and volunteers.

 

PHOTOGRAPHY by Janelle McMenamin

Share This Event:   
Venue
Gungahlin College Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesRestrictions/WarningsInteractShow Administration
You may also like... RENTRENT
7 Jun 2024 to 13 Jun 2024
$59.90 - $129.90
Musical
Sound of Music  - Youth EditionSound of Music - Youth Edition
23 Mar 2024 to 24 Mar 2024 Session Times
2pm Saturday 23rd March (Cast 1)
5pm Saturday 23rd March (Cast 2)
2pm Sunday 24 March (Cast 2)
5pm Sunday 24 March (Cast 1)
Musical
Next to NormalNext to Normal
15 Feb 2024 to 24 Feb 2024 Session Times
Thursday 15 Feb 2024 - 8pm
Friday 16 Feb 2024 - 8pm
Saturday 17 Feb 2024 - 2pm
Saturday 17 Feb 2024 - 8pm
Sunday 18 Feb 2024 - 2pm
Wednesday 21 Feb 2024 - 8pm
Thursday 22 Feb 2024 - 8pm
Friday 23 Feb 2024 - 8pm
Saturday 24 Feb 2024 - 2pm
Saturday 24 Feb 2024 - 8pm
$44 - $49
Musical
Dog Man: The MusicalDog Man: The Musical
19 Apr 2024 to 20 Apr 2024
$34.00 - $49.00
Musical
Madagascar Jr the MusicalMadagascar Jr the Musical
19 Apr 2024 to 26 Apr 2024 Session Times
19 April 7pm
20 April 3pm
21 April 11am
22 April 11am
23 April 11am
24 April 11am and 3pm
25 April 11am and 3pm
26 April 7pm


$27 - $30
Musical