A Midsummer Nights Dream
Bell Shakespeare presents
A Midsummer Night's Dream

30 May 2024

Shakespeare’s classic comedy, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, is reawakened in this breathless production brimming with magic, mirth and mayhem.

Love is in the air in Athens – and it’s contagious. Besides the royal wedding, which is just days away, there are young lovers dreaming of enchanted futures together. Hermia and Lysander are besotted with one another, while Helena adores Demetrius. The only snag is that Demetrius loves Hermia – and he’s got Hermia’s father on his side. So nobody is happy. (Shakespeare wasn’t kidding when he said the course of true love never did run smooth.)

Determined to be together, Hermia and Lysander meet in a moonlit forest with plans to elope. Following hot on their heels is Demetrius, who in turn is pursued by a lovelorn Helena. But the young lovers are not alone in the forest. Nick Bottom and his hapless bunch of tradies have gathered to rehearse a play to be performed at the royal wedding. And, hidden from human eyes, a mischievous sprinkling of faeries are also in the forest that night. The three worlds collide in an explosion of comic confusion that throws the future of all the lovers into jeopardy.

Directed by Peter Evans, this production is quick as a shadow. Fast, funny and family-friendly, this is A Midsummer Night’s Dream reimagined.

★★★★½ You’d be mad not to see it” – The Age

“A joyous mix of the romantic, the poetic and the making of mirth” – Canberra Times

“Exquisitely joyful.”Herald Sun

Share This Event:   
Buy Tickets   Venue
Orange Civic Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
1 hr 40 mins
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and Locations
You may also like... Nayika (A Dancing Girl)Nayika (A Dancing Girl)
30 Apr 2024 to 19 May 2024 Session Times
Tuesday 30 April 2024 - 7:30PM,
Saturday 4 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Sunday 5 May 2024 - 5:00PM,
Saturday 11 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Saturday 11 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 12 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Friday 17 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Saturday 18 May 2024 - 2:00PM,
Saturday 18 May 2024 - 7:30PM,
Sunday 19 May 2024 - 5:00PM

$39 - $95
Play
Wild Dogs Under My SkirtWild Dogs Under My Skirt
Show finished on 13 Apr 2024
$45 - $55
Play
Toy Symphony by Michael GowToy Symphony by Michael Gow
18 Apr 2024 to 27 Apr 2024 Session Times
Thursday 18 April - 6pm
Friday 19 April - 6pm
Saturday 20 April - 1pm and 6pm
Wednesday 24 April - 6pm
Thursday 25 April - 6pm
Friday 26 April - 6pm
Saturday 27 April - 1pm & 6pm
$30 - $55
Play
Strangers on a TrainStrangers on a Train
16 Mar 2024 to 20 Apr 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays - 7.30pm
Sundays - 4.30pm
Note: no shows Easter weekend

$30 - $35
Play
RatburgerRatburger
17 Apr 2024 to 28 Apr 2024 Session Times
Wednesday 17 April 2024 -10.30am, 12.30pm
Thursday 18 April 2024 - 10.30am, 12.30pm
Friday 19 April 2024 - 10.30am, 12.30pm, 6pm
Saturday 20 April 2024 - 10.30am, 12.30pm
Sunday 21 April 2024 - 10.30am, 12.30pm, 4pm
Tuesday 23 April 2024 - 10.30am, 12.30pm
Wednesday 24 April 2024 - 12.30pm, 6pm
Thursday 25 April 2024 - 10.30am*, 12.30pm
Friday 26 April 2024 - 12.30pm, 6pm
Saturday 27 April 2024 - 10.30am, 12.30pm
Sunday 28 April 2024 - 10.30am, 12.30pm

*Relaxed performance

Tickets from $29 + $8.95 booking fee
Play