A Midsummer Nights Dream
Bell Shakespeare presents
A Midsummer Night's Dream

30 May 2024

Shakespeare’s classic comedy, A Midsummer Night’s Dream, is reawakened in this breathless production brimming with magic, mirth and mayhem.

Love is in the air in Athens – and it’s contagious. Besides the royal wedding, which is just days away, there are young lovers dreaming of enchanted futures together. Hermia and Lysander are besotted with one another, while Helena adores Demetrius. The only snag is that Demetrius loves Hermia – and he’s got Hermia’s father on his side. So nobody is happy. (Shakespeare wasn’t kidding when he said the course of true love never did run smooth.)

Determined to be together, Hermia and Lysander meet in a moonlit forest with plans to elope. Following hot on their heels is Demetrius, who in turn is pursued by a lovelorn Helena. But the young lovers are not alone in the forest. Nick Bottom and his hapless bunch of tradies have gathered to rehearse a play to be performed at the royal wedding. And, hidden from human eyes, a mischievous sprinkling of faeries are also in the forest that night. The three worlds collide in an explosion of comic confusion that throws the future of all the lovers into jeopardy.

Directed by Peter Evans, this production is quick as a shadow. Fast, funny and family-friendly, this is A Midsummer Night’s Dream reimagined.

★★★★½ You’d be mad not to see it” – The Age

“A joyous mix of the romantic, the poetic and the making of mirth” – Canberra Times

“Exquisitely joyful.”Herald Sun

Share This Event:   
Venue
Orange Civic Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
1 hr 40 mins
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and Locations
You may also like... Murder on the Nile Murder on the Nile
9 Aug 2024 to 21 Sep 2024 Session Times
Fridays and Saturdays at 7.30pm
Sundays at 4.30pm
$30-$35
Play
Hay FeverHay Fever
22 Jun 2024 to 27 Jul 2024 Session Times
Saturday 22 June 7.30pm
Sunday 23 June 4.30pm
Friday 28 June 7.30pm
Saturday 29 June 7.30pm
Sunday 30 June 4.30pm
Friday 5 July 7.30pm
Saturday 6 July 7.30pm
Sunday 7 July 4.30pm
Friday 12 July 7.30pm
Saturday 13 July 7.30pm
Sunday 14 July 4.30pm
Friday 19 July 7.30pm
Saturday 20 July 7.30pm
Sunday 21 July 4.30pm
Friday 26 July 7.30pm
Saturday 27 July 7.30pm
Adult $35, Concession $30
Play
The MousetrapAgatha Christie's The Mousetrap
8 Aug 2024 to 11 Aug 2024
35-99
Play
The MousetrapAgatha Christie's The Mousetrap
Show finished on 25 May 2024
$59.90 - $149.90
Play
FourteenFourteen
Show finished on 16 May 2024
$20.00 - $49.00
Play