Romeo and Juliet
SPORT FOR JOVE THEATRE COMPANY presents
Romeo and Juliet

21 Jul 2022 to 29 Jul 2022

It takes a village to kill a child.

The existential crisis facing our world today, the product of a lack of practical leadership from our earth’s elders, has triggered a deafening chorus of ‘How dare you!’, screamed from the heart of our planet’s youth. And it’s not just about climate issues. What can children teach us in their struggle to be heard? 

Sport for Jove’s furiously energetic new production of Romeo & Juliet is characterised by a true vision of today’s youth - the rarely seen innovation of actual teenagers playing the play’s children – Juliet, Romeo, Paris, Mercutio, Benvolio, Balthazar - and surrounded by an extraordinary cast of experienced players, gives this production an authenticity and honest rawness, danger and the genuine awkwardness of youth. 

Director Damien Ryan’s production takes on the spirit of a filthy Italian opera, lead with an original acapella vocal score, driven by heat and sensuality, chaos, fights and fevers of the mind, and of course, by Shakespeare’s soaring poetry. We are carried to a small town in backcountry Verona, a profoundly insular place, trapped in cycles of tradition and vendetta, staring out at the future with moral pollution at its heart. Only its children’s courage to express themselves will bring change. With the mad blood stirring, two young lovers meet and set in motion the most iconic love story of all time, that of Juliet and her Romeo.

Share This Event:   
Venue
Seymour Centre - York Theatre
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
110 mins
Restrictions/WarningsTour Dates and Locations
You may also like... Ulster AmericanUlster American
13 May 2024 to 8 Jun 2024 Session Times
Monday 13 May - 6:30pm
Tuesday 14 May - 7:30pm
Thursday 16 May - 11am
Thursday 16 May - 6:15pm
Friday 17 May - 8:15pm
Saturday 18 May - 2pm
Sunday 19 May - 5pm
Tuesday 21 May - 8:15pm
Wednesday 22 May 0 8:15pm
Thursday 23 may - 11am
Thursday 23 May - 6:15pm
Friday 24 May - 11am
Saturday 25 May - 4:30pm
Saturday 25 May - 8:15pm
Sunday 26 May - 2pm
Tuesday 28 May - 11am
Tuesday 28 May - 6:15pm
Wednesday 29 May - 11am
Wednesday 29 May - 6:15pm
Thursday 30 May - 8:15pm
Friday 31 May - 8:15pm
Saturday 1 June - 2pm
Sunday 2 June - 5pm
Tuesday 4 June - 8:15pm
Wednesday 5 June - 8:15pm
Thursday 6 June - 11am
Thursday 6 June - 6:15pm
Friday 7 June - 6:15pm
Saturday 8 June - 4:30pm
Saturday 8 June - 8:15pm

$43 - $88
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
4 Jun 2024
$25.00 - $55.00
Play
SwitzerlandSwitzerland
3 May 2024 to 8 Jun 2024 Session Times
Friday, 3 May 2024 - 8:00 pm Preview
Saturday, 4 May 2024 - 2:00 pm Preview
Saturday, 4 May 2024 - 8:00 pm Preview
Sunday, 5 May 2024 - 5:00 pm Preview
Tuesday, 7 May 2024 - 11:00 am Sold Out
Tuesday, 7 May 2024 - 7:30 pm
Wednesday, 8 May 2024 - 7:30 pm
Friday, 10 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 11 May 2024 - 2:00 pm
Saturday, 11 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Sunday, 12 May 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 14 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 15 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 15 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Thursday, 16 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 18 May 2024 - 4:30 pm
Saturday, 18 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Sunday, 19 May 2024 - 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 21 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 21 May 2024 - 6:15 pm
Wednesday, 22 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 22 May 2024 - 6:15 pm
Thursday, 23 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Friday, 24 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 25 May 2024 - 2:00 pm
Sunday, 26 May 2024 - 5:00 pm
Tuesday, 28 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Wednesday, 29 May 2024 - 8:15 pm
Thursday, 30 May 2024 - 11:00 am
Saturday, 1 Jun 2024 - 4:30 pm
Saturday, 1 Jun 2024 - 8:15 pm
Sunday, 2 Jun 2024 - 2:00 pm
Tuesday, 4 Jun 2024 - 11:00 am
Tuesday, 04 Jun 2024 - 6:15 pm
Wednesday, 5 Jun 2024 - 11:00 am
Wednesday, 5 Jun 2024 - 6:15 pm
Thursday, 6 Jun 2024 - 8:15 pm
Friday, 7 Jun 2024 - 8:15 pm
Saturday, 8 Jun 2024 - 2:00 pm

$43 - $88
Play
FourteenFourteen
15 May 2024 to 16 May 2024
$20.00 - $49.00
Play
Polar Bear & Penguin Polar Bear & Penguin
20 Apr 2024 to 24 Apr 2024 Session Times
Saturday 20 April 2024 - 10am, 12pm, 6pm
Sunday 21 April 2024 - 11am, 2pm
Monday 22 April 2024 - 10am, 12pm
Tuesday 23 April 2024 - 10am, 12pm, 6pm
Wednesday 24 April 2024 - 10am, 12pm

Tickets from $35 + $8.95 booking fee
Play