Guru of Chai
Merrigong Theatre Company presents
Guru of Chai

23 Feb 2023 to 25 Feb 2023

Merrigong Theatre Company and Indian Ink Theatre Company are proud to present the outrageously funny and heartbreakingly beautiful romantic thriller Guru of Chai at Wollongong Town Hall from the 23rd to 25th February, 2023. 

A poor chai-wallah (tea-seller) has his life changed forever when a young girl is abandoned at a busy railway station and brings the place to a standstill with the beauty of her singing. 

Winner of three New Zealand Theatre Awards for Best Play, Best Production, and Best Composer, Guru of Chai is an innovative modern fairy tale packed with love and magic. Written by and starring world-renowned actor and writer Jacob Rajan (Belvoir’s The Jungle and the Sea, Paradise or the Impermanence of Ice Cream at Sydney Festival 2023), Guru of Chai brings to life the buck-toothed chameleon and 17 other characters, delivering a serpentine romantic thriller while dispensing dubious spiritual wisdom. 

With a fast-paced and action-packed story, Guru of Chai is a spellbinding tale with the power to move across cultures, classes, and eras to create an utterly entertaining experience for audiences of all ages. 

Share This Event:   
Session TimesTicket PricesDuration
90 minutes no interval
You may also like... SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024SHORT+SWEET THEATRE SYDNEY 2024
29 Feb 2024 to 21 Apr 2024 Session Times
WEEK 3 | Thursday 29 February 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Friday 1 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Saturday 2 March 7:30pm
WEEK 3 | Sunday 3 March 6:30pm
WEEK 4 | Thursday 7 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Friday 8 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Saturday 9 March 7:30pm
WEEK 4 | Sunday 10 March 6:30pm
WEEK 5 | Thursday 14 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Friday 15 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Saturday 16 March 7:30pm
WEEK 5 | Sunday 17 March 6:30pm
WEEK 6 | Thursday 28 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Friday 29 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Saturday 30 March 7:30pm
WEEK 6 | Sunday 31 March 6:30pm
WEEK 7 | Thursday 4 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Friday 5 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Saturday 6 April 7:30pm
WEEK 7 | Sunday 7 April 6:30pm
WEEK 8 | Thursday 18 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Friday 19 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Saturday 20 April 7:30pm
WEEK 8 | Sunday 21 April 6:30pm
$25 - $30
Play
A Midsummer Nights DreamA Midsummer Night's Dream
30 May 2024
$30.00 - $52.00
Play
RBG: Of Many, OneRBG: Of Many, One
9 Feb 2024 to 23 Mar 2024
$50 - $140
Play
Alice In WonderlandAlice In Wonderland
Show finished on 6 Jan 2024
$44.90 - $64.90
Play
Alone it StandsAlone it Stands
25 Jan 2024 to 2 Mar 2024 Session Times
Tuesdays - 11:00am & 7:30pm
Wednesdays - 7:30pm
Thursdays - 11:00am & 7:30pm
Fridays - 8:00pm
Saturdays - 3:30pm & 8:00pm
Sundays - 5:00pm
$40 - $88
Play